Review of Pretty Little Liars Episode 2×16 “Let The Water Hold Me Down”.

Monday night’s episode of Pretty Little Liars was good, but in my opinion not great.  Why?  It just felt slow, and it didn’t really seem like anything truly moved forward in this episode.  I know not every episode can be jam packed with stuff that progresses the story but still.  Let’s break this episode down by each girl and what they dealt with in this episode.  As usual, this post will contain spoilers so if you haven’t watched yet, don’t read this.  For those who have seen the episode, click to proceed.

Starting with Hanna.  We all knew that Lucas was not working with A.  That would have been way too obvious.  I felt the whole “losing money from gambling” was a bit of a cop-out though and fell kinda flat. I had definitely been hoping it was something a little more scandalous than that.  I get that the show can’t have every story line be filled with scandal but still.  The way they made it look, it seemed like it was going to be a bit darker than what it turned out to be.  It also seems like Hanna is going to be the one that A focuses on next, but will she be as easy to break as Emily was? I’m going to say no, but only time will tell.

Aria’s story was kinda “meh” for me.  I just wish her and Ezra could be happy already!  Quit throwing so many different people and difficult situations at them!  I really hope that within the next 1 or 2 episodes this gets straightened out and they can finally have some peace, instead of all this constant turmoil being thrown in their way.  I get that it makes things more exciting but after a while it just gets tedious.

Emily’s story flat out bored me.  There really wasn’t much of a story for her this week, just wondering why Maya had so much mysterious phone activity and then finding out Maya hooked up with a guy.  I like these two together, but they were boring this week.  I really hope that this doesn’t become a trend with them.  I’ll be very disappointed if that’s the case.

Spencer’s story was good, going to Jenna’s old rehab center and talking to the guy who used to know her.  I feel like her going after Jenna though is going to turn out to be a dead end.  Obviously, Jenna has done something and Garrett is involved as well, but I’m just not convinced that they’re A.  Will we even find out what Jenna has done this season?  Who knows, they might wait to reveal that piece of information in season 3.  This much I do know: A doesn’t like Spencer poking around and seems to have made her their main target throughout the course of the entire series.  She definitely needs to watch her back

Overall, I would give this episode a 7/10.  It felt like an overall average episode, kind of slow and I didn’t feel like any of the story progressed at all.  Next week looks promising though, so we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

